Butterfly Cakes

bookboodle

Now let’s be honest, who hasn’t at one point in their lives made these delightful little Butterfly Cakes? A perfect quick bake especially if baking with children.

I used my favourite Victoria Sponge recipe for the Butterfly Cakes but also included a little twist in a hidden surprise…now don’t get too excited it was only a spoonful of jam but mixed with the vanilla icing was delish!!  I used jam as I had some to use up but you could just as easily use lemon curd or even marmalade.

What you need:IMG_2035

For the cakes (makes approx 24)

225g soft butter
225g caster sugar
225g self-raising flour
2 tsp baking powder
4 large eggs

For the filling and topping

About 4 tbsp raspberry or strawberry jam
5oz butter, softened
10oz icing sugar, with a little for dusting
1-2tbsp milk
Flavouring if required (I used some vanilla essence)

What you…

View original post 176 more words

